The Rejected Writer’s Book Club…bySuzanne Kelman

 

The premise of this book is that a group of women form a book club based on their common ‘sisterhood’ of being writers  who can not seem to get  their work published. They save the rejection letters and read them during the meetings. They soon realize that the group is more important to them then  actually being published. The group is a somewhat crazy cast of characters. Most of the book focuses on them and their crazy adventures as they take a road trip.

I received this book through Netgally and I was drawn to it because of the fantastic title and interesting cover. I have not seen this premise covered before, so I was excited to get to read the novel.

 I did love the premise and the characters. That being said, the writing seemed a little off to me. There were a lot of jokes, puns, metaphors, similes etc. that just didn’t  seem to work for me. They seemed outdated and just distracted me while I was  reading.  I found a few of the situations not really believable but they did not bother me nearly as much as the very rough writing.

I did like this book overall and consider giving it a 4, but it just seems to me the writing just wasn’t that of a 4 star book. I would recommend this for maybe an older crowd. I will probably take a chance if there is a second book added to the series. Overall, I give it a weak 3 1/2 stars.

I was given a copy of this book by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

 

Rating:📖 📖 📖 1/2

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “The Rejected Writer’s Book Club…bySuzanne Kelman

  1. lunireads March 16, 2016 / 12:33 am

    The cover of this book is SO PRETTY!! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

