A Pair of Docks…by Jennifer Ellis

 

I was given a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book is what I would call a middle grade, fantasy, time travel novel. I first was drawn to the book because of the great cover and also because the title’s play on words. I also chose to read this novel because  boy/girl twins are 2 of the main characters. Having boy/girl twins myself, I love to read novels with twins and love to see the relationship dynamics between them.
This tells the story of Caleb, Abby, and Simon who are teenage siblings. They discover stones in their backyard that let them time travel to what seem to be alternate worlds in the future.They make multiple trips across the stones and each place is different. A cast of interesting characters interact with the siblings including Mark, a neighbor with Aspergers. who is an expert at maps.

I liked this book. I thought it was really interesting and I read it quickly. I loved the characters.  I felt they were complex and real and I connected with them. I  especially liked  the girl twin, Abby, who is a science geek. Her and her brothers also seemed to have a good relationship. There were a lot of scientific terms in the book which made the science behind the story seem more real. I think the story line was a little simple for me as an adult but would highly recommend for pre-teens or younger teens. This is a series and I may read the next book in the installment.

I give this book 4 stars.

Rating:📖 📖 📖 📖
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

