The Girls in The Garden by…Lisa Jewell

  A community with a common garden and two crimes. One years ago and one in the present. ‘The Girls in the Garden’ tells the story of the complex relationships involved in a close knit community.The story begins with Pip finding her sister Grace in the garden after an apparent attack . The story then back tracks  to the events leading  the crime. Soon it is revealed that years before a similar event occurred in the same area of the garden.

I enjoyed this book. It reminded me somewhat of  the ‘Girl on the Train’ in that the reader knows a crime has taken place then a large cast of possible suspects is introduced and the details of the event slowly emerge.

  The first half  of the novel went quite slowly for me but the second half o  picked up speed. Although,I didn’t find this novel as engrossing as the ‘Girl on the Train’,I did find  the characters well developed, interesting, and believable. I did  find this book fairly predicable for a mystery/thriller and I found the ending pretty somewhat of a let down.

  Overall, I did enjoy this novel and would recommend ‘The Girls in the Garden’ for anyone that likes a good modern ‘who done it’. I wish there were more books in this genre set in America as lately I find the novels I am most interested in are set in the UK .

Overall, I give this novel a strong for stars.

Rating: 📖 📖 📖 📖

I received a copy of this novel from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

